Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Ludum Dare and 4.6?

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by wccrawford, Aug 22, 2014.

  1. wccrawford

    wccrawford

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,040
    Are there going to be any problems with web builds for Ludum Dare using the beta of 4.6? I hadn't considered it until I saw something in another topic.

    Thanks!
     
  2. GibTreaty

    GibTreaty

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    792
    http://unity3d.com/unity/beta/4.6

    "Note: Although Unity 4.6 is a near-complete solution, we recommend that you use it for testing only, and not for content you plan to ship soon."

    So yea, sadly we won't be able to use it for the Ludum Dare unless you just want to supply them with the standalone player. Otherwise if you try to build a webplayer, it will only work for you.
     
  3. Tim-C

    Tim-C

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,225
    You can use it, we will push an update to the web player channel soon if we have not yet.
     
  4. Cheshyr

    Cheshyr

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    That's awesome; thank you. I was about to revert to 4.5 for Ludum Dare, but glad it's not required... it seems like a great place to demo your new features.
     
  5. Melang

    Melang

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Posts:
    166
    Has anyone tested this? This webplayer (by senritsu from another thread) works alright for me. Haven't tried it on a computer with no Unity installed though.
     
  6. Cheshyr

    Cheshyr

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    So far it's worked for me and the 3 other people who have tested it. One of them had never installed the Beta, so that seems fairly safe... although i'm not doing anything complex. http://goo.gl/wPSNGR
     
    wccrawford likes this.
  7. Cheshyr

    Cheshyr

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    So it does look like 4.6 beta UI elements are causing some minor glitches in Chrome and 4.5 Webplayer... mostly unresponsive buttons. Hitting Refresh a few times after game load seems to fix it, as well as switching to IE. Not sure if it's the beta, or Chrome causing the issue.