Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Low end pc + cinemachine

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by CapelaGames, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. CapelaGames

    CapelaGames

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    I have been trying to get my game running smoothly on my laptop so I can playtest it.
    I noticed in the profiler the biggest issue to improve framerate I am having is related to cinemachine. So I wanted to come on here to ask if there was anything I could do.

    here is a screenshot of the profiler:
    cinemachine after physics.PNG

    As you can see the cinemachinebrain.afterphysics() call is causing most of my problems. It's getting called 10 times which doesn't seem right to me. I currently have 4 cinemachine freelooks in the scene, with two of them disabled at all times (It is a split screen game so there are two cameras and two cinemachines running at once at all times)

    If there is anything I am missing to improve the performance or if you require any code, please let me know. And thank you in advance.
     
  2. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    3,257
    Try build game, and see, if you will have same issue?
    Also, if you can post you laptop specs.
     
  3. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,946
    What version of Unity, and what version of Cinemachine?
     
  4. CapelaGames

    CapelaGames

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    So After checking the specs of everything, I updated to cinemachine 2.2.8 from 2.2.7 and it seems to have fixed the issue. Also, I couldn't seem to recreate the issue after it was built. I will answer the questions below anyway, just in case you need it for future reference.

    Specs: core i5-7300U
    Intel HD graphics 620

    Unity: 2018.3.0f2

    Cinemachine: 2.2.7 (Updated to 2.2.8 which seems to have fixed the issue)

    Thanks a lot for both your help!
     
    Gregoryl likes this.