Search Unity

Lost in socketing: Unity with node.js?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by SV_Janjo, Jun 11, 2014.

1. SV_Janjo

SV_Janjo

Hi guys

I'm quite new to socketing and all the asynchronous client-server stuff. I'm making web game that uses webplayer to display battle arena. Until now, I used http class to communicate with the server but now I would like to switch to socket communication. But I don't know where to begin.

As a server I choose node.js (sure, you can reccomend better solutions but only with understandable tutorials) with websocket extension. On Unity side, i use websocket-sharp library. I found very weak support, tuturials or examples for this library. First I run the server script. On game start, I connect to server on localhost (address ws://127.0.0.1:13337/ - that's the adress and the port i'm using in node.js) but when I run the game, nothing happens (no error, no connection found on server). How do I debug this? How do I check whether client is connected?

As I said, I feel completely lost now. Could you offer me suitable tutorials, libraries or whatever? I need to find:
    1. Server technology
    2. Client library
    for my web game to use sockets. Help me, thanks!

2. fholm

fholm

My recommendation would be to use C# for the networking server also, so you can share code between your client and server.

3. SV_Janjo

SV_Janjo

All right, but it wasn't very helpful for me as beginner in this area. I need more guidance and examples. But thank you anyway.

4. SV_Janjo

SV_Janjo

OK, I keep struggling but there is little progress:

1. I switched to SharpConnect library.
    2. I created and run server on local port 843 to send crossdomain policy xml, here's the code:
      Code (JavaScript):
      1. var net = require("net");
      2. var server = net.createServer(function(c) {
      4.     c.on('error', function(error) {
      5.         console.log(error.toString());
      6.     });
      8.     c.on('data', function(data) {