Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Lost Crypt 2D Tech demo is out now on the Asset Store

Discussion in '2D' started by rustum, Dec 16, 2019.

  1. rustum

    rustum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    190
    Lost Crypt now Available.png
    The Lost Crypt 2D Tech demo is out now on the Asset Store. Get it here:
    Lost Crypt - 2D Sample Project

    We've use most of our new 2D tools together to create a 2D side-scroller demo. Read the blogpost where we show how these integrated 2D tools can help you create high-end visuals with Unity.

    We're excited to know how the project works for you! Do let us know what works as expected, as well as what's missing or confusing. As always if you run into any issues tell us all about it below!

    Important:
    It is strongly recommended that you remove older versions of The Lost Crypt from your Asset Store cache. Different versions of the project are uploaded for different versions of the editor, and these are often incompatible between versions, especially when downgrading.

    To remove older versions from your Asset Store cache navigate to one of the paths below based on your OS and delete it there.

    macOS
    : ~/Library/Unity/Asset Store-5.x
    Windows: C:\Users\accountName\AppData\Roaming\Unity\Asset Store-5.x
    Linux: ~/.local/share/unity3d/Asset Store-5.x

    Additional Note:
    - Lost Crypt uses the new Input System, so when you import it you might be prompted to use the new system. After accepting the prompt, restart Unity so that you can control the character
     

    Attached Files:

    eses, yuanxing_cai, Corvwyn and 4 others like this.
  2. justtime

    justtime

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    428
    Hi there! In play mode i can't control character. WASD and arrows don't work.
     
  3. rustum

    rustum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    190
    Hi! Lost Crypt uses the new Input System, so when you import it and after accepting the prompt, restart Unity to activate controls for the character.
     
    AyedRamadeen and eduardooriz like this.
  4. antk

    antk

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    This is so cool, so many useful tools!
     
    chenxisandy and rustum like this.
  5. doarp

    doarp

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Posts:
    147
    Running on 2019.3.0f3 (on a Mac) I'm getting this error in the console (doesn't interfere with game play):


    Dimensions of color surface does not match dimensions of depth surface
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)

     
    andybyte and aRDee_ like this.
  6. panckreous

    panckreous

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I get fun random errors every time I try to download the Asset. Any chance of making the project available on the unity github like you guys used to with these sorts of projects? If not, any tricks you guys know to get this downloaded? Eager to see what I can learn from project.
    Screen Shot 2019-12-18 at 3.29.53 PM.png Screen Shot 2019-12-18 at 3.29.35 PM.png Screen Shot 2019-12-18 at 3.29.22 PM.png
     
  7. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    Which specific version of Unity are you using?
     
  8. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    This message is indeed harmless. But we will look into what's causing it.
     
    andybyte and rustum like this.
  9. doarp

    doarp

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Posts:
    147
    Trying to build to iPhone, build fails with these errors. Do I need to change something for it to run on iOS?


    BC7 compressed textures are not supported when publishing to iPhone
    Assets/Environment/Sprites/Altar/Sprites_Artefact.psb
    Included from scene:
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallGlobalEventHandler()



    DXT5 compressed textures are not supported when publishing to iPhone
    Assets/Character/Sprites/Sara_normal.psb
    Included from scene:
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallGlobalEventHandler()
     
  10. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    Did you previously switch platform from MacOS to iOS? If so, you may need to re-import (right click -> Reimport) .psb assets. This is a known bug.
     
    doarp likes this.
  11. panckreous

    panckreous

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    2019.3.0f3 mac
     
  12. Mat_os

    Mat_os

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hello, can you help me please?

    I try to find, how to make shadows like in video-presentation of sample asset, but in project on my pc i cant see shadows. What i do wrong?

    Shadow on video:
    Screenshot_1.png Screenshot_3.png

    Shadow in my project
    unknown.png

    Sorry for my english.

    P.S. I try to add <CompositeShadowCaster2D> to player, but nothing change.

    EDIT

    Ok, first of all you need to add a <ShadowCaster2D>, not <CompositeShadowCaster2D>

    https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c...s.universal@7.1/manual/2DLightProperties.html
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2019
    tyoden and jackytop like this.
  13. AbgaryanFX

    AbgaryanFX

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    167
    Getting these errs`
    First is because of Input settings switched to new one(but should be fixed)
     
    andybyte likes this.
  14. Muskar

    Muskar

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Looks good. I was neither able to use the controls until I played a round with the debugger attached - maybe a timing thing?
    Anyway, I wanted to play around with having a tree in the foreground and see if a point light (i.e. from the wand) can make meaningful lighting on that. E.g. partial light on one side, and no light if the light is behind the sprite, preferably with directional shadows too, but I'm probably getting ahead of myself
    I can only manage to either hide the light from the foreground or have it be on top. Any pointers to how we might achieve something like that? Lost Crypt - Unity 2019.3.0f3_ _DX11_ 29-12-2019 19_16_13.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2019
  15. vonmighty

    vonmighty

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Hey how do I stop it running in Step mode? Cant unselect it?
     
  16. Upside-Down-Bird

    Upside-Down-Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Did you figure this out?
     
    MaykeBr and tyoden like this.
  17. smallfather

    smallfather

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    I keep getting a runtime error - The type or namespace could not be found 'Cinemachine' & 'CinemachineBrain"
    I have Cinemachine installed.
    Also, the screen is purple with no visible level while on main scene.

    Thx
     
  18. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    Is it working okay for you now, with the latest official 2019.3 release? I've never seen this error myself.
     
  19. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    You have to put the leave sprites into different sorting layers, and set your light to affect only the bottom layer.
     
  20. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    What version of Unity are you using? And what are the versions of URP and Cinemachine, respectively?
     
  21. Tigersong

    Tigersong

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    73
    I'm getting an error saying "null texture passed to GUI.DrawTexture" (Unity 2019.3.0f6). Should I have set the project up with the Universal template? There are also several scripts showing errors in VS Code.
     
  22. ed_s

    ed_s

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Posts:
    165
    No need to change the project set up; it's a known issue with the discovery windows. To work around this, uncheck the Show this window on startup box on The Lost Crypt and Gameplay Ingredients pop-up windows.

    gameplayIngredients.png TheLostCrypt.png
     
  23. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    Screenshot_1.png
    Hi there! When i first opened this project, this error showed up:
    Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.universal@7.1.6\Editor\UniversalRenderPipelineCameraEditor.cs(1049,57): error CS0535: 'UniversalRenderPipelineCameraContextualMenu' does not implement interface member 'IRemoveAdditionalDataContextualMenu<Camera>.RemoveComponent(Camera, IEnumerable<Component>)'

    And after this i have Black Screen in the Game Window. Can you help me please?
     
  24. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    You'll need to install a newer version of URP via the Package Manager. We'll also release a new version of Lost Crypt soon to fix these commonly seen issues.
     
  25. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    Hello and thank you for your reply. I did installed the newest version of URP and the error has gone but the black screen stills there. What should i do now to fix that issue? Screenshot_1.png
     
  26. rustum

    rustum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    190
    Hi @Jok3rGR
    We have just released a new version of Lost Crypt that may resolve some of these issues. Try making a new project in the latest Unity 2019.4 and import the new version from here: Lost Crypt : 2D Sample Project

    Do let us know if this works for you!
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2020
  27. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    Hello and thank you for responding. I did what you said but i still have the black screen thing. What is happening? Screenshot_1.png
     
  28. rustum

    rustum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    190
    Is the screen also black when you make a brand new project?
     
  29. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    When i make a brand new project, the screen is blue. Screenshot_3.png
     
  30. Chris_Chu

    Chris_Chu

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Posts:
    257
    After Lost Crypt is loaded, do you see anything in the scene view? In the screenshot you have posted I didn't see any sprites or lights?

    Also have you ever made/run anything else using URP or the 2D Lights?
     
  31. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    No i don't see any of this. Just black screen... And no. This is my first time running a project like this. upload_2020-7-8_23-16-21.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2020
  32. keith801

    keith801

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    How is the player keeping the same speed on that slope?
     
  33. Chris_Chu

    Chris_Chu

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Posts:
    257
    I will create a couple test projects and direct message you them. I'd like to figure out if you are having a problem with URP as a whole or just the 2D renderer. I think in either case this may be a hardware issue.

    If you could file a bug for this it would be appreciated. It will be hard to repro and fix without knowing what hardware you are developing on.
     
  34. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    Hello again and thank you for helping me. I have made a bug report.
     
  35. Chris_Chu

    Chris_Chu

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Posts:
    257
    I direct messaged you some projects. If you have a chance to try them, let me know if you are seeing black for them.
     
  36. Chris_Chu

    Chris_Chu

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Posts:
    257
    It looks like both the URP and 2D Renderer sample I sent work, at least with more success than the demo did. Did you have any errors in your console for the Lost Crypt?
     
  37. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    @Jok3rGR Also, can you give us a screenshot of you Package Manger in your Lost Crypt project? It would help for us to see what packages and which versions of them are installed.
     
  38. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    There you go:
    Screenshot_1.png

    Screenshot_2.png

    Screenshot_3.png

    Screenshot_4.png

    And also Mr. Chris Chu, no i don't have any kind of error. The console it's just clear.
     
  39. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
  40. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    They told me this: upload_2020-7-20_14-50-49.png
    But the problem is that i don't know how to do it. Can you help me?
     
  41. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    Click the 3 dots on the right side of you project in Unity Hub, then select Advanced Project Settings.

    Also can you please let us know the issue tracker/fogbugz link to your submitted bug report?
     
  42. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    Umm i can't find that 3 dots you are talking about :D and yeah i can but where is that link. Sorry but i am noobie...
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2020
  43. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    upload_2020-8-2_23-15-17.png

    You should have received an email regarding the bug report you sent. It has the link in it.
     
  44. Jok3rGR

    Jok3rGR

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    10
    After i added the -force thing now the project is working properly. Thanks to all of you for your support. I really appreciate it <3
     
    yuanxing_cai likes this.
  45. arisuper0001

    arisuper0001

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Could you tell me what to do as well, I also did everything and the game just won't load. Its downloaded, but I can't load the main scene, thank you.
     
  46. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    Can you tell us all the steps you've taken?
     
  47. Ediros

    Ediros

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I can't seem to get it work. I have downloaded the project, imported it to an empty file and it has got 177 errors. What am I doing wrong?
     
  48. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    Which version of Unity are you using? And what are the 177 errors?
     
  49. Ediros

    Ediros

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Version: 2020.2.1.1f1

    Errors:

    upload_2021-1-4_12-34-40.png
     
    wang00 likes this.
  50. yuanxing_cai

    yuanxing_cai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    Can you please try upgrading all of your packages in the project to the latest?