Search Unity

Video Looping A Portion Of A Video

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by JerryWitt, Apr 12, 2019.

1. JerryWitt

JerryWitt

Okay, total newbie question. (I have someone helping me, but I am trying to get up to speed with C# too.)

Say I have a VideoPlayer with a video attached in Unity. Say I have attached a KeyDown MonoBehavior and when a certain key is pressed, the video will jump to another section of the video and either pause or play. I have all this working.

But now, I want the video to not just play from the point I jump to, but play for 5 seconds, jump back 5 seconds, and play for 5 seconds again and again. A video loop. How do I do that?

I have tried to wedge some loop code into the Update() section of my KeyDown. But the closest I have gotten is to get it to rewind the 5 seconds and stop. No amount of fiddling will play it from there.

I guess this makes sense. I mean why is the video looping code in the KeyDown? What (I think) I should be doing is when you hit a key, a global variable is set, the VideoPlayer jumps to that time, and ANOTHER script evaluates the looping.

My questions:
    What other script should evaluate what the current time is of the VideoPlayer?
    I declared the variable var vp = GetComponent<UnityEngine.Video.VideoPlayer>(); in the keydown script. Can I use this in another script?
    Besides the sloppiness of all those if/else statements, is there a better approach to do what I want to do?

Thank you!

I added my code that is attached to the camera with the VideoPlayer.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class keyDown : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    8.     void Start()
    9.     {
    11.     }
    13.     // Update is called once per frame
    14.     public void Update()
    15.     {
    16.         var vp = GetComponent<UnityEngine.Video.VideoPlayer>();