Search Unity

LookRotation - Combine transform.forward / transform.up

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ldouglas, Aug 27, 2018.

1. ldouglas

ldouglas

Hi everyone,

First off: apologies for the 'basic nature' of my question(s), I really tried to find a solution for hours but I can't seem to find one - hence this post.

While not being a professional / developer, I'm still totally into learning / creating Unity-driven VR-projects for my own fun's sake.

So... I'll dive right into it:
    I've written my own FPS-controller-script which I'm trying to improve / extend constantly.

Currently I'm trying to 'create' footprints (auto-generated cubes ATM).
    I'm using a raycast in order to determine the slope-value of the object the player is currently walking on.

Now, as these footprints shall face 1.) the forward-direction of the player-capsule / 2.) 'rest' on the actual surface / it's slope-'value' I'm trying to combine forward / up-values in order to generate the right angle.

I tried to achieve this using 'LookRotation':
    upload_2018-8-27_20-45-3.png

upload_2018-8-27_20-46-29.png

Which seemed to work at first glance - until I realised that this would only take the CharacterCapsule's forward-direction into consideration:

upload_2018-8-27_20-45-34.png

In order to see whether raycastHit2.transform.up would actually return a valid transform-value, I then tried the following:
    upload_2018-8-27_20-48-32.png

The 'slope-angel' would then be applied as desired - but without facing the player's forward-direction, of course...

upload_2018-8-27_20-51-28.png

Basically my question would be:
    Is there a way to 'calculate' / combine up / forward-values of different objects?

Am I completely wrong by trying to use 'LookRotation' for this task?

I'd like to thank everyone in advance for having spent time reading this post.

Best,
    Lex

2. Doug_B

Doug_B

Have you tried setting the
    transform.up