Search Unity

Looking to get into Unity and Game development in general

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Fudegracoon, May 28, 2020.

1. Fudegracoon

Fudegracoon

So, currently I'm majoring in computer engineering and towards the end of my first year. Till now I've learnt C/C++ and took my 3 courses in programming one being a beginner's class the second being sort of an intermediate one and data structures currently. I haven't been relaying on university at all and been researching and learning stuff on my own. I know STL and I've learnt alot about linked lists, queues, stacks, graphs, trees and hashtables. In the summer I'll be reading and practicing on object oriented programming and more advanced stuff in C++. I'm aware that unity uses C#, so after I'm done with all this I'll start learning C# and getting familiar with the synatx. Now comes my question, will I have a tough time learning C# and using unity and utilizing what I've learnt so far? Also I failed to mention that ai have a bit of experience with blender and made multiple decent projects with it, so how are things looking for me?

2. neginfinity

neginfinity

If you were deep into C++, and very used to it (few years of practice), then you could feel some confusion upon encountering Equals() in conjunction with overloading operator==.
    C++ has distinction of value and pointer to it, while C# has ambiguity when it comes to operator== and Equals(), as it is not immediately obvious which one should compare if the values are the same and which ones should check if the OBJECT itself is the same.

Given that you're relativley new, however, you should be fine, and there should be a lot of similarities.

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored