Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking For Shader Advice

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Phedg1, Sep 6, 2018.

1. Phedg1

Phedg1

I'm just beginning to wrap my head around shaders and I'm looking for some advice. I render my camera to a RenderTexture that I draw back on the screen with a RawImage component and I am trying to get the colours and transparency to match the camera's view as closely as possible. I also need the image to be effected by CanvasGroup.alpha so I can fade it in and off the screen seamlessly. To that end, I'm trying to create a shader that has some nice transparent/semitransparent blending. The unity manual recommends Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha, but I have noticed that, whether it's the colour or alpha, the end result is that the colours are noticeably off. After some Googling I found that Blend One OneMinusSrcAlpha is recommended for a truer transparency blend. However, using this new blend mode I have found that the transparency has an abrubt cutoff when approaching zero, using the CanvasGroup.alpha property. When approaching opaque the shader transitions really smoothly. When approaching 0, setting the alpha at 0.002 is still significantly opaque and when it hits zero it's quite noticeable that it was not a smooth transition. Is there anything I can do to address this? Can I have some advice as to where to start Googling to tackle this? Thanks.

2. bgolus

bgolus

This is proper alpha blending. As the alpha goes lower, the object will get more transparent.