Search Unity

Question Looking for guidance on creating Tillemaps and Tiles via code

Discussion in '2D' started by jtsmith1287, May 10, 2023.

1. jtsmith1287

jtsmith1287

Ultimately, I'm just learning the 2D pipeline as of hours ago. I thought it would be a fun exercise to make a dwarf fortress clone (lol... not really but just the map and play area with some proc gen stuff).

Initially I just created quads, but very quickly a map that was 100x100 tiles (which is really small for what I'm going for) crawled to a halt for performance. I will need multiple layers (elevation) of probably 500x500 tiles to really emulate what DF has going on for the playable map. This would be like .02 FPS based on what I'm seeing for performance so with 5 layers of 100x100 quads (each with their own renderer for holding an image). It is now obvious this is the incorrect approach.

That's the context. So I learned about tilemaps and chunking. Sounds perfect and will probably be what I need to scale. Except the unity documentation is lacking and youtube videos seems to be behind on the version. You can't just make a "Tile" anymore with the create asset menu? I've tried creating rules tiles and I've tried creating a UnityEngine.Tilemaps.Tile in code to just fill out properties manually.

Nothing is working. And by working, I mean nothing is creating me a Tile that I can then assign to the tilemap with SetTile(). I want to create a "canvas" of top down terrain, then batch draw it all as 1 image using a tilemap per layer so things perform faster. If I want to have 32 layers (16 above, 16 below) I assume 32 renderers will perform happily. That's all speculation though as I can't test haha. But I also need to be able to change that tile image at any time and I think the Tilemap Grid system will be awesome.

Anyone able to help? I've been farting around with this for the majority of the day and I think I've run out of things to try.