Search Unity

Looking for expert advise regarding large project.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Spartan480, Jun 23, 2019.

1. Spartan480

Spartan480

Elo boys and girls.... long time reader, first time poster :)

Some friends and I have been working with unity since 2.6 and have made mostly small self sustaining games and a few mobile titles all being solo projects but now it feels like the timing is right to undergo a larger project we consist of a group of 2 programmers and 2 animators and 2D/3D artists and are busy creating a road map for a multiplayer survival game concept very different from your traditional ROK, Rust and Outlaws... my fear though is not really knowing where to start or if its maybe more than we can handle....

As we are all self taught and mentored right here on these forums I would like to know if there is any advise that some of the more seasoned developers could share as far as management, stages, goals and expectations etc... I guest right now I'm mosting looking for some moral support and a few tips so we don't lose our heads.

I look forward to your thoughts :)

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Hmm, well you have a right-sized team, and some completed titles under your belt; that's a huge leg up, even if they're small. But still it sounds like this might be a big step from those.

My suggestion is: take a few extra weeks to really think deeply about your game. What is the central fun? The core game loop? Sure you have zillions of ideas you all have to make it even awesomer, but if you were to pare it down to just the essentials, what would that look like?

Then build that first. Make sure it's fun. If that's not fun, adding bells and whistles is probably not going to salvage it. If it is fun, then you will be motivated to continue to extend it, and add some of those other features you dreamed up. You'll probably also have some newer, better ideas, based on having played the core game a bit.