Search Unity

looking for advice (simple card game)

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Expediter, Feb 25, 2015.

1. Expediter

Expediter

Hello everyone,
    I am extremely new to unity and am a moderate programmer ( simple stuff nothing big). I have decided to take on a simple project as I have been craving to create something for a while. I have decided to make an extremely simple "trading card game" with unity.

I am looking for a little advice on how to handle cards and a GUI in a card game. currently I have a game "scene" with 5 cards that are draggable from a "hand" and you can place the cards from the hand onto the game board(that is all my game is at the moment). once the card is on the game board section , that section changes its image to signify a card is there. I was using the GUI and adding text when I started feeling like I am probably doing this all wrong.

Currently I am making cards in Photoshop, importing them into unity and then dragging them into my scene as sprites. I attach scripts to the sprites and arrange them the way I want. I started wondering , should I be making these cards in the GUI somehow ? instead of just dragging them into the scene as sprites? Can scene elements interact with GUI elements ? I want to make sections on the board were the cards must be placed, should that functionality be in a GUI or just as a bunch of sprites in a scene that change as I drag and drop?

my final goal is an extremely simple trading card game with RPG elements, to make things simple the player will start with a static hand, no dynamic card generation from deck or anything like that. I want to start game with an enemy card that just sits there and a hero card that has two "equipment slots" were I can place cards on. different cards do different damage to enemy until enemy is dead, that's it. This is meant to be a learning exercise but I feel like I need some advice / direction at this point.

thank you for any/all advice.

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi