Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion Looking for Advice - Multiple server worlds or filtering everything by teams

Discussion in 'NetCode for ECS' started by FootSteps, Aug 10, 2022.

1. FootSteps

FootSteps

This is my first attempt at using Netcode for Entities. I currently have 1+ clients connecting to a server playing a Tower Defense type game. Each client currently can see the towers, enemies, and attacks. This is great.

For the next milestone I'm shooting for in my game is multiple teams. What I have now is 1 teams base / gameplay loop. I need to replicate this for additional teams.

Never at any point will more than 1 team be shown on a clients screen. They click a button to `Spectate` the other team, losing sight of their own. The only interaction between the teams, is sending a small amount of data to send enemies at the other team and maybe showing team scores to other clients.

So in my mind I have two different solutions going forward.

1. Create a separate server world for each team, if possible put them on separate network ports. So each team would be playing in a server world like ServerWorld_TeamX with X being each teams index. Seems like a little bit of code, and I can duplicate what I have already as additional teams.

2. Create a TeamID filter component for all entities. Every tower, enemy, and environment will have a TeamID. Use Ghost Relevancy to separate what data is sent to each client based on TeamID. So each client will only be viewing / commanding their own TeamID filtered entities. With the option of viewing another TeamID as a spectator.