Search Unity

Question LOD CrossFade Shader in URP

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by iscf, Aug 11, 2020.

1. iscf

iscf

Hello,
    I wanted to make some optimizations on my game and i tried LOD Group and it work perfectly, i gained 5-10 FPS.
    Just a detail, it's too obvious when the object disapear immediatly when culled, so i read about crossfade effect.
    But i haven't found an easy way to do it without replacing all the shaders i use, and even the documentation is not very detailed about how implement it in URP.
    I'm new at shader so i prefer to don't write custom shader and replace one by one all my materials with textures already associated.

Is there any way to simply "Upgrade" the standart URP shaders to take in account the crossfade with an alpha blending or something like that ?

And if not it could be very generous that feature is added to the URP Package ;) .

2. iscf

iscf

Bump, nobody know how to do it ?

3. Kibelon

Kibelon

Have you played with this settings? It works for me.
    upload_2020-8-14_20-37-30.png
    If this kind of fadings don't work, maybe the LOD objects are too diferent.

4. StaggartCreations

StaggartCreations

Unfortunately it would come down to creating a custom shader that performs dithering based on the LOD fade value (unity_LODFade.x) passed by the LOD group. The default URP shaders don't incorporate this, assuming because none of the default features (except SpeedTree) use this, so it isn't on anyone's rader.

The Boat Attack demo includes a LOD crossfade shader you can look into.

Attached Files:

gotiobg, Kaim and gmgannon like this.
  5. iscf

iscf

@Kibelon It need object ? And when it culled completely ? I'm a bit more radical and removing some renderers so maybe because of that it's not working.

upload_2020-8-17_17-46-59.png