Search Unity

Resolved localRotation not being called

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by laresdju, Jan 28, 2024.

1. laresdju

laresdju

Hello everyone, i am fairly new to coding and i am lost because the script is working and at the same time it isn't

I'm trying to make a canted ADS and with this script below, everything works well, it does the rotation.
    The problem is it only works if the scene is loaded with the weapon game object active in hierarchy and I need the weapon to be disabled on scene load. So when i go pick up the weapon and load it in inventory and whenever i try to use canted sight, it doesnt work.

I have a bool to check if it is canted, it is. localPosition and camera FOV change, but the localRotation stays the same.

I'm trying to change Z rotation

Vector3 cantedRot;
    and in inspector set 0, 0, 50

Here's the script:

Code (CSharp):
    2. /// in update()
    4.        if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.Mouse1))
    5.         {
    6.             isAiming = true;
    8.         }
    9.         else { isAiming = false; }
    11.         if (isAiming)
    12.         {
    13.             if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.V))
    14.             {
    15.                 isCantedAim = true;
    17.             } else
    19.             { isCantedAim = false; }
    20.         }
    21.     }
    Code (CSharp):
    1.    public void ADS()
    2.    {
    3.        if (isAiming)
    4.        {
    5.            CrosshairAim.SetActive(false);
    7.            if (isCantedAim)
    8.            {
    9.                transform.localRotation = Quaternion.Euler(cantedRot * Time.deltaTime * smoothCantRot);
    10.                transform.localPosition = Vector3.Lerp(transform.localPosition, cantedAimPos, Time.deltaTime * adsSpeed);
    11.                Camera.main.fieldOfView = 70;
    12.            }
    13.            else
    14.            {