Search Unity

Local Wifi multi-device game (android - PC)

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Le_Gringo, Sep 30, 2018.

1. Le_Gringo

Le_Gringo

To begin: Sorry for my English, I am a french person and I try to make some efforts to write properly.
    Secondly: I don't know if this question have already been posted but I can't find the answer.
    Finally: I am an beginner and I am a "graphic designer", not a programmer. My project is for personnal use (school project), not for commercial use. that's why my post risk to contain a bad understanding of unity technology.

Hi Everyone,

I would realize a little project: i wanna create a game which could be played with 4 android mobile devices and a PC which will act as a central stage for all the player.
    To explain, every player should be able to give answer to a quizz displayed on the PC screen (example: Kowledge Is Power on PS4 with the PlayLink concept).

I need some help to know where I am supposed to begin.
    Do you have any tutorial which will help me to make this?
    Does the Unet depreciation risk to cause some issues with this project ?

Thank you very much and sorry if the question have been posted already :(

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Pretty much any networking API would be able to handle this. Investigate the various networking API's, try out a few, go through their tutorials, etc, as a first step.

I'd avoid Unet due to it being removed in the near future, but there are plenty of 3rd party API's available.

3. Le_Gringo

Le_Gringo

Thank you for your answer. Do you have some suggestions? Except Unet, is there an API considered as « noob friendly » ?

4. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

Multiplayer networking is often very custom tailored to each game and it's needs, so unfortunately it's not too noob friendly overall as a subject. I'd agree that you should just start learning the available free libraries you can find in active development and see which fits your needs based on reviews and tutorials.