Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Local Network

Discussion in 'Connected Games' started by riceng, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. riceng

    riceng

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    Hi, how can i make one connection Server Client in my local network using MasterServer? Without connection to internet.

    thx
     
  2. RicheyMB

    RicheyMB

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Posts:
    111
    You can't use MasterServer without the internet (unless you are running MasterServer on your network in which case you just need to upate the IP address of MasterServer.

    You can connect to a server via the local IP address and port. If you don't have a static IP on the server you'll need to run IPCONFIG on the command line which will tell you.

    On the server run Network.InitializeServer(number_of_players, port_id, false);
    On the client run Network.Connect("ipaddress", port_id);
     
  3. riceng

    riceng

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    "unless you are running MasterServer on your network in which case you just need to upate the IP address of MasterServer."
    How can i do it?
     
  4. TwisterK

    TwisterK

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    110
    Jesterofthesky likes this.
  5. diegomazala

    diegomazala

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Hi Twistek
    I have a similar problem: I want to run Master Server in a LAN
    So I call
    $ MasterServer.exe -p 20000

    I set the MasterServer on my script to
    Then, when I play the application in Unity Editor, I got the message:
    Do you have had this problem?

    Thanks a lot