Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Loading the Wrong Scene In Editor

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Idual, Dec 2, 2023.

  1. Idual

    Idual

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    Hi,

    I have fairly mature project with a number of scenes. These can be selected from a menu scene via ui buttons.
    Recently the editor crashed while a scene was running.
    Since then one of the scenes is no longer accessible from the editor. When I open it in the editor it opens another scene.
    However, the scene that it points to, still exists. It will load from the menu. I presume that the scene.unity file has become corrupt but don't want to start digging around in it without knowing what I'm doing.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    7,358
    Sounds like something that should be visible and revertable in your version control.
     
    Idual likes this.
  3. Idual

    Idual

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    You're almost certainly right but I'm the kind of idiot who uses RAR once a week as version control.
     
  4. Idual

    Idual

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    I have actually found the solution and it makes me want to delete the original question because the solution is so obvious.

    Don't save anything. Close the editor without saving anything. Open the editor again.
     
  5. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    7,358
    Well time to start using proper version control. There's no reason not to.