Search Unity

Resolved LoadContentCatalogAsync loads outdated information.

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by JonathanBartel, Apr 27, 2022.

1. JonathanBartel

JonathanBartel

I've been using Addressables for several years now and haven't experienced this issue until recently. Though I couldn't say what version of Addressables I first noticed it, I believe it was 1.19.18 or 1.19.19. When I call Addressables.LoadContentCatalogAsync("path") it's loading old information from a catalog that no longer exists.

A short example for more context, let's say I have two assets: AssetA and AssetB. I build the bundles with a hash appended to the name, so I get AssetA_111.bundle and AssetB_111.bundle. (Real hashes are generated. I've kept the hash simple in this example for readability.) I load the catalog at runtime; everything's fine. AssetA and AssetB load correctly. Then, I update AssetA and delete AssetB and rebuild. Now I have AssetA_222.bundle and no bundle for AssetB. When I load the catalog at runtime, it's looking for and can't find AssetA_111.bundle and AssetB_111.bundle (not surprising seeing as they no longer exist). When I open the catalog.json file in a code editor and search for AssetA, I can see that the catalog does indeed point to the new bundle (AssetA_222.bundle) and makes no reference to the old bundle or to AssetB. So if the catalog is built correctly, why does Addressables.LoadContentCatalogAsync("path") load outdated information?

It seems like some sort of caching issue. I do call Addressables.ClearResourceLocators() before loading the catalog and I'm positive the provided string for the catalog path points to the correct location. I have "Use Asset Bundle Cache" unchecked in the settings. I've tried Addressables.ClearDependencyCacheAsync("key") which didn't help this issue. I've also tried Addressables.CheckForCatalogUpdates() but the list it returns has a Count == 0 and there is no change in behavior. This happens in the editor and in the build.