Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug LoadAssetAsync doesnt work for a minute on start but then is always almost instant

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by manubare, Jun 7, 2023.

1. manubare

manubare

Hello, Im new to addressables as I recently started using them to load assets on demand from a list of over 1000 of them.

On editor they load instantly but on build it takes a solid minute before LoadAssetAsync calls do anything. Then once the time has passed, Unity will "resume" and execute all new LoadAssetAsync almost instantly.

Here's the code:

Code (CSharp):
    2.         public void LoadAsset()
    3.         {
    4.             if (loadingAsset || assetReady) { return; }
    6.             Debug.Log($"<color=olive>LoadAsset {this}</color>");
    7.             AssetPrefabLoadManager.NewLoadingData(this);
    8.             Addressables.LoadAssetAsync<GameObject>(assetRef).Completed +=
    9.             (asyncOperationHandle) =>
    10.             {
    11.                 if (asyncOperationHandle.Status == AsyncOperationStatus.Succeeded)
    12.                 {
    13.                     Debug.Log($"<color=green>loaded {this}</color>");
    14.                     AssetPrefabLoadManager.AddEntry(this, asyncOperationHandle.Result());
    15.                     AssetPrefabLoadManager.RemoveLoadingData(this);
    16.                 }
    17.             };
    18.         }
    Some of these assets I call on the first few frames of the program and I yet it takes forever to complete. Then minutes will pass and I execute the same method on another asset and it will load in a second.