Search Unity

Question Load the Game Scene when everybody's ready

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by GuirieSanchez, Nov 8, 2022.

1. GuirieSanchez

GuirieSanchez

So, I would like to ask for a way to wait for all clients to be connected and ready before calling
    NetworkManager.Singleton.SceneManager.LoadScene(gameSceneName, LoadSceneMode.Single);

Also, and most importantly, I would appreciate it if someone could elaborate on a way to wait for everybody to be done loading a scene so that all clients and the host start the scene at the very same time (since I'm still new to netcode/network, I would very much appreciate a working example).

Having the clients not loading the scene at the same time can cause a lot of issues. For instance, because I have [ClientRpc]s on certain scene objects, when a client that loads the scene earlier than the rest fires an update or an RPC function at the same time as some other client connects, then it breaks the game because the script that contains the RPC in that client's scene is not done yet referencing its components.

2. GuirieSanchez

GuirieSanchez

I appreciate any help.

I tried to use the "SceneEventType" callbacks found in the documentation (here) to no avail.

Things of this sort (below)
    Code (CSharp):
    1. private void SceneManager_OnSceneEvent(SceneEvent sceneEvent)
    2.     {
    3.         var clientOrServer = sceneEvent.ClientId == NetworkManager.ServerClientId ? "server" : "client";
    4.         switch (sceneEvent.SceneEventType)
    5.         {
    6.             case SceneEventType.LoadComplete:
    7.                 {
    8.                     // We want to handle this for only the server-side
    9.                     if (sceneEvent.ClientId == NetworkManager.ServerClientId)
    10.                     {
    11.                         // *** IMPORTANT ***
    12.                         // Keep track of the loaded scene, you need this to unload it