Search Unity

load binery data from .dat file (or if necessary .txt) on mobile phone

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by flomotion, Jul 21, 2014.

1. flomotion

flomotion

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting a question (because so far i could always find my questions already answered), so i will try my best to formulate the question as clear as possible:

I have an object Level containing some data i need to load the level and i have it saved (on the phone) like this:

string path=Application.persistentDataPath + "/"+"dataName"+".dat";
    if (!(File.Exists (path)) ) {
    BinaryFormatter bf = new BinaryFormatter ();
    FileStream file=File.Create (path);
    bf.Serialize (file, level);
    file.Close();
    break;
    }

now I can copy these .dat files to any folder (in this case assets/Levels) on my computer and load them with this code:

Level level=new Level();

string path=Application.dataPath + "/Levels" + "/dataName" + ".dat";
    if(File.Exists(path)){
    FileStream file = File.Open (path,FileMode.Open);
    level= (Level)bf.Deserialize(file);
    file.Close();
    }

this works flawlessly on the computer but it will not work on the mobile phone. i guess this is because the folders i created do not exist anymore after creation of the app and i will have to use resources.load to get my data.

I put my level data in the resources folder and tried some things like:

TextAsset asset = Resources.Load("dataName") as TextAsset;
    Stream s = new MemoryStream(asset.bytes);
    level= (Level)bf.Deserialize(s);

this doesnt work, probably because my data is stored as .dat. My question is now if there is any way to import my binary data from those .dat files and if not, how can i save my binary data to a txt file.

Or any other solution how to save an object to a binary file and reload it afterwords (not from persistantDataPath but from a folder within Assets) ???

Thank you guys a lot for helping me!

kind regards, flo

2. sinanasiri

sinanasiri