Search Unity

1. We've closed the job boards. If you're looking for work, or looking to hire check out Unity Connect. You can see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Unity Gear Store is here to help you look great at your next meetup, user group or conference. With all new Unity apparel, stickers and more!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. If you're a macOS 10.13 High Sierra user take be sure to read this before updating Unity.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Unity 2017.3 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

Linux Editor 2017.3 beta review

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by kjkrum, Nov 22, 2017.

1. kjkrum

kjkrum

I've been playing around with Unity on Windows for a few months. We have a couple licenses at work, and I may start using it professionally when I'm finished with my current project. I decided to check out the 2017.3 beta for Linux because Unity is currently the only reason I ever boot Windows at home.

You're greeted with an annoying bug on the very first screen you see. You can't paste into the password field. This was reported over two years ago. How is this still broken? (I know how: you're using a message board as an issue tracker. That's just... no.)

Overall, the performance seems great. Startup seems much faster than on Windows. (Everything runs better on Linux!) The first thing I did was drop a terrain into the scene, throw a texture on it, and replace the default camera with the first person controller from the standard library. Even this extremely simple scene runs noticeably better on Linux than Windows.