Search Unity

Linux: beginner's guide for developers :-)

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by LinuxDevJ, Sep 27, 2020.

1. LinuxDevJ

LinuxDevJ

I am a software developer without any game engine experience and started my very first Unity project. As I use a Linux distribution (Ubuntu 20.04 LTS) and just have experience in a Java IDE (Eclipse), I had just a rough idea how this could work. I was wrong. I searched various sources on the internet until I got my first project finally running, was able to built a Linux executable and finally setup debugging the C# code of Unity. So I had no experience with Unity, none with C#, and none with game development overall. It took me a whole day to finally had a small game with full development cycle. As this was all free, I wrote this guide to help other (non-)developers to get starting with game development with Unity (on Linux). :)

1. Install Unity
    Well, this one is easy: go to the download page and click "Download Unity Hub". This will download a file "UnityHub.AppImage". I created a separate directory for this "Unity program" (e.g. "/Programs/Unity/"). As this is an "AppImage", there is no need to "install" this - you can simply run it. Of course, you first have to make the file "executable" if it is not already:

> chmod a+x UnityHub.AppImage

So just double click the file (or create a script with "./UnityHub.AppImage") and Unity will start. Be patient as some actions need some time to finish.

The first time you start Unity, you will have to login with your Unity account (free) and "manage a license" by selecting the free "Personal" license.