Search Unity

1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Lightwave 11.5 Fracture Animation to Unity 4

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by timrbetts, Jul 25, 2013.

1. timrbetts

timrbetts

I'm somewhat new to Unity but have been a very long time fan and user of Lightwave as a hobbyist mostly.

Recently I was successfully able to model and texture a small aircraft. I then baked a diffuse atlas and normal map. Next, remapped all surfaces to use the diffuse, then used the LightwaveAppLink to import the FBX into Unity. Once in Unity I applied the normal map and added it to the scene and played around with a chase camera. I'm pretty happy with the way it turned out, but on a side note it sure was a lot of work to get my model and its surfaces into Unity and it certainly seems like there is an opportunity for someone to create a more dedicated exporter to automate this process OR do you guys have a better work flow?

Anyway, having got the main model into Lightwave, I decided I would now like to blow it up, so I make another scene in Lightwave and used fracture to break it up into about 100 pieces which we can call my fractured model. I then animated several collision objects over 120 frames to have it destroyed the way I wanted (one possible variation of many perhaps).

Where I need help is to first understand how I take that animation into Unity and play it back. So ideally, I would trigger the explosion say after a few seconds after loading my main scene, I assume by replacing my main ship object with the fractured model and trigger the animation. Just getting this far would be nice, then I suppose I could fade out the fractured object or something over time.