Search Unity

"Lightmap Index" and Draw-Call Batching

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Peter77, Jun 3, 2019.

1. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

Looking at the Frame Debugger shows a lot of draw-calls are generated because of different lightmapIndex values in our game.

I assumed objects with the same material, which are close to each other, would share the same lightmap(index) if there is enough space on the texture.

However, it seems Unity does not try to assign the same lightmap to objects in close proximity, which would reduce draw-calls, because of less render state changes when rendering what's in the view.

This is basic stuff, but I'm new to lightmaps and I must be missing something here. What can I do to achieve that Unity assigns the same lightmap to objects in close proximity?

upload_2019-6-3_9-17-6.png

upload_2019-6-3_9-17-56.png

2. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

Peter77 likes this.
  3. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

Many thanks for the quick answer!

AcidArrow likes this.
  4. rasmusn

rasmusn

Unity Technologies

Hi Peter,

Currently Unity does not handle this for you automatically. However, you can do this manually by assigning equal "Baked Tags" to objects that you want to group into same lightmaps.

See "Baked Tag" in the docs for more info.

Attached Files:

Peter77 and Adam-Bailey like this.
  5. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

Hi Rasmusn,

many thanks for your answer. I was able to reduce draw-calls by 38% by using the "Baked Tag".

Below I describe how I achieved this and would like to get some feedback on whether this is the approach you recommend, because it felt kinda odd in the way I used it.

My initial assumption was that "Baked Tag" would be part of a Renderer. That would allow me just iterate over all renderers in a scene and assign a baked tag. However, there is no Baked Tag in a Renderer, but there is the LightmapParameters object.