Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Light probes are invisible and don't contribute lighting.

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by illinar, Oct 9, 2019.

  1. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    Light probes are in my scene, if I go to their edit mode I can select them with box selection, despite not being able to see them at all, I only see the light probe group icon. Also they don't work in terms of lighting dynamic objects.

    Help would be appreciated.
     
    tigerleapgorge likes this.
  2. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,124
    tigerleapgorge and hippocoder like this.
  3. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    Thanks!
     
    tigerleapgorge likes this.
  4. FiveXGames

    FiveXGames

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Posts:
    43
    tigerleapgorge likes this.
  5. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Seems to work OK in 2020.1 alpha 11 but I recently did obliterate my library folder so it may or may not have helped.
     
    tigerleapgorge likes this.
  6. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,124
    tigerleapgorge likes this.
  7. FiveXGames

    FiveXGames

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Posts:
    43
    Many thanks!
     
    tigerleapgorge likes this.
  8. id0

    id0

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    455
    Unity 2020.1.0 Alpha 14 and still no light probes visible and can't do anything.
     
    tigerleapgorge and DJ_JW like this.
  9. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    2020.1.0 is most likely older, the fixes will be added later. Is there a reason to use 2020 anyway?
     
  10. jvetulani

    jvetulani

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Posts:
    55
    Latest URP is only available for 2020.

    In 2020.1.6f1 the lightprobes appear black for me.
     
  11. DotTeam

    DotTeam

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Posts:
    196
    What are stable and/or feature rich versions for light probes?
     
  12. dgreyoak

    dgreyoak

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I am running into this issue in 2020.2.3. The bug linked in earlier post by Unity is NOT the same bug as illinar describes in his original post. I have two 2020.2.3 projects open and one works and the other does not. I thought I was going crazy thinking everything was the same between both scenes, but it is indeed not working in the one I need it to. I am reimporting my library and am hoping that fixes it.
     
  13. dgreyoak

    dgreyoak

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    KingKadriK likes this.
  14. KingKadriK

    KingKadriK

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Posts:
    15