Search Unity

Licensing bug for linux build

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Gorgon89, Nov 13, 2015.

1. Gorgon89

Gorgon89

Hey people,
    I'm new to unity and very happy that there is a linux movement for this nice software!
    So Im very interested to install the linux build of unity. But I have problems to get it
    working:

I've installed the linux *.deb build into my debian 8 (with dpkd -i unity... and apt-get install -f afterwards).
    I licensed for the personal edition. But then it freezed.
    I thought it could be due to the free nouveau nvidia driver.

So I've installed the nvidia 304.125 driver for my aged GForce Go 7300
    (I've followed the instructions on
    https://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsDrivers#Version_304.125_.28legacy_GPUs.29)

Driver installation worked well, but now I have problems with the unity license screen at the start.
    It doesnt stop checking for the license:
    "Unity is checking license - stay tuned!"

Thanks to google I found out that this is a known bug for Mac and Windows:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/known-issues-in-unity.255282/

The solution should be to delete a .ulf file. But I can't find any .ulf file in /opt/Unity
    Reinstallation (with apt-get purge unity-editor and again intalling as mentioned above) didn't worked for me.

How can I fix this for the linux build?

I'm happy about any hints!

Greetz
    Gorgon

2. knobby67

knobby67

I don't know your Linux experience so sorry if this is obvious. Have you tried a find command? Something like find / -type f -iname "*.ulf"
    If not check out find and how to use.

3. Eraph

Eraph

While it's checking for a license, disconnect from your network. You will be prompted to manually sort out your license. Click the button to download a file and open the linked page - reconnect to your network and upload the file, you'll get a new file to download, you can upload that back into Unity and you will be licensed.
    You only have to do this once.