Search Unity

Level

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Lightme, Dec 20, 2017.

1. Lightme

Lightme

Hello,

I just started learning Unity, and I have I think a basic question that is:

How does level works in Unity, like I am a player I win the level and I want to go to the next level?

In Unity how do I make this next level and how do I tell the engine that I move on?

Probally awnsered before but it's so much topics that I cannot find the right topic...

Thank you and Hi to you all!

2. BrewNCode

BrewNCode

This is simple. You have to make every scene 1 level. while finishing the level, Unity has to change the scene to get to the another level. For this, you focus noe on level design, UI, and Programming.

So, Scene1 = level 1 - Scene 2 = Level 2, and so on.

Lightme likes this.
  3. Lightme

Lightme

hey Dreaddisk,

Thank for your awnser.

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

There's several ways you can do it. The most direct approach would be what was already mentioned, have a different scene for each level, and at the end of a level you switch to the scene for the next level.

Depending on what a level really is in your game though, you could really take a variety of approaches.

* Levels could just be separate areas of the same scene that either directly connect with each other, or don't connect and you just teleport the player to the next area within the scene corresponding to the next level
    * You could instantiate your terrains and other level specific objects from prefabs and just reload the same scene to advance to the next level, or just destroy all the old level stuff and instantiate the new level stuff, probably with some type of fade out transition while this occurs
    * You could make moving from one level to the next rather seamless while keeping them as separate scenes by using additive scenes instead of hard switching scenes