Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Level Design] Prefabs & Optimization?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Shicksal, May 26, 2018.

1. Shicksal

Shicksal

Hello everyone, new to the community and happy to be here. I'm fairly new to game development too, only ever getting as far as creating a single detailed level and functional character movement with animations. Early on I realized that programming is not my strong suit, but I have better potential in level design. I've recently started a project with an acquaintance who is fantastic with programming and I'm currently in the process of becoming more familiarized with good level design.

As of right now I've been going through post processing early and just learned about prefabs, after tinkering with these and creating a few prefabs I worried about creating larger prefabs and the effect that might have on performance.

Finally, my questions.
    1. What are some good level design practices to do going forward to keep things well optimized?
    2. Should my focus be more on good level streaming and proper culling than worrying about large prefabs?
    3. Is there a way to combine the models in the prefab like a collage of rocks into just the one rock?
    I was looking into a program call Mesh Combine Studio, and wondered if that would do the trick, however I feel I might be misunderstanding the usage of that tool.

I hope I'm articulating my questions well, my main goal is to nip these issues in the bud and practice good level design from the ground up so I don't develop bad habits. If my third question didn't make sense, I can attempt to give an example. If you have any tutorials strictly on level design, paid for or free, I'd greatly appreciate to know about them! Thank you for your time!

2. Deleted User

Deleted User