Search Unity

Let users create their own virtual tours

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by mike158, Jan 28, 2019.

1. mike158

mike158

Hey, I'm pretty new to Unity and I'm working on Virtual Tour using Oculus SDK. I want to create an application that allows users to view any virtual tour.

So I want users to create the tour by placing objects representing the view at some point, let them specify a transition effect, put control objects into the view for transitions between views and somehow let them connect all views together. The user should be able to export the tour into some file and then view the tour by loading this file in an application.

What would be the best approach to achieve this behaviour? My thoughts are to create 2 applications. One for viewing tours and the second one for creating tours and exporting them. I don't want to create an extension for Unity editor because I would force users to install whole Unity.

Thanks for your replies!

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

This is kind of a big undertaking. It sounds doable, but you'll want to be familiar with working with Unity before we can go into any meaningful detail about what you'd need to do.

Additionally, being the Getting Started sub, this might not be the best sub for help on your advanced use app. We have lots of topic-specific forums for help with specialized parts of your app once you get there, and you'll have better luck finding people who can help you with those parts there, if that makes sense.