Search Unity

Legal Issue..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ShirazAkber, Mar 21, 2021.

1. ShirazAkber

ShirazAkber

Hello guys, i have been making games for the past 3 years as an indie developer but those games were never commercialized instead i only gave them to people i know. Now i have decided to go full-time indie dev and make it my living and already made 2 ready and polished "hyper casual games". The problem is one of my games has a name that is already taken by someone on playstore. Can i still publish my game there? will there be any legal issues like cease and desist etc. Does my game have to be copyrighted? and is this copyright international or country wise?, I am from Pakistan and new to commercial development. I would like to know all the legal related stuff there is to game development. Thanks in advance.

2. stain2319

stain2319

Only a lawyer can answer these questions and you won't find any of those who will answer your questions on this forum for free. Sorry. It's just a much too complex issue for anyone to give you proper advice on this here.

Socrates likes this.
  3. Martin_H

Martin_H

Pick a different name. Nothing can reliably prevent you from getting sued, not even having a lawyer. But not breaking the law drastically decreases the likelyhood of getting sued of course. If you want to do further research, I think you need to look more at trademark law than copyright law.
    Using an existing name is also a bad idea for search engine optimization reasons imho, just don't do it.

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Copyright laws vary from country to country, and are quite complex since you may need to consider the copyright laws of other countries either when enforcing a copyright or defending yourself from a copyright claim. But the name of a game isn't a copyright issue, but a trademark issue. That's a whole separate can of worms.