Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Legacy cache server doesn't work after installing with Unity Accelerator Installer

Discussion in 'Unity Accelerator' started by pavelpry, Dec 12, 2019.

  1. pavelpry

    pavelpry

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hello!

    I've installed node.js LTS and then Unity Accelerator on a new Windows machine. And unfortunately legacy cache server doesn't start with Unity Accelerator. Here is the error from unity-accelerator.log:


    legacy-cache-server: C:\PROGRA~1\Unity\ACCELE~1\node_modules\.bin\unity-cache-server:2
    legacy-cache-server: basedir=$(dirname "$(echo "$0" | sed -e 's,\\,/,g')")
    legacy-cache-server: ^^^^^^^
    legacy-cache-server:
    legacy-cache-server: SyntaxError: missing ) after argument list
    legacy-cache-server: at Module._compile (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:895:18)
    legacy-cache-server: at Object.Module._extensions..js (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:995:10)
    legacy-cache-server: at Module.load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:815:32)
    legacy-cache-server: at Function.Module._load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:727:14)
    legacy-cache-server: at Function.Module.runMain (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:1047:10)
    legacy-cache-server: at internal/main/run_main_module.js:17:11
    legacy cache server finished
     
  2. KAJed

    KAJed

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    122
    Bump
     
  3. spacefrog

    spacefrog

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    same thing is happening here ...
     
  4. spacefrog

    spacefrog

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    Guys ... could you please respond to that issue ?
    tried to dig up the reason for the unity-cache-server shell script to fail, but without success
    from the error it looks like something simple having to do with the path building in the first line of the shell script
     
  5. ANTONBORODA

    ANTONBORODA

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    Bump. This is happening to me too.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2020
  6. spacefrog

    spacefrog

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Posts:
    733
    Issue still exists in newest release v1.0.328+g0f5c93d
     
  7. DavidErosa

    DavidErosa

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Posts:
    41
    Same error here too. It seems like it's an error while trying to replace the path separator character from \ to /. I'll try to dig for a temporal fix.
     
    spacefrog likes this.
  8. bradunity

    bradunity

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    195
    Feel free to use the legacy Cache Server directly. Installing it from the Accelerator wizard provides no additional benefits and will likely be removed from the installer in an upcoming release.
     
  9. hiepu3d

    hiepu3d

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    Hello,
    We have recently released a fix for this with version `v1.0.445-g268a2b8`. Please try them out and let us know if the problem still persists. Also, as mentioned above, the legacy cache server does not provide additional benefits and it may be removed from Accelerator installer in the future.