Search Unity

Learning Unity C# step by step?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by BallPitGuy, Feb 15, 2018.

1. BallPitGuy

BallPitGuy

Hi!
    I've been trying to learn/teach myself C# and Unity for a little bit, and it's definitely a tough process. I know that other people find it difficult as well.
    So I was hoping that perhaps someone could come up with some kind of baby steps type plan. Not give specific how-to information, but rather a sort of detailed syllabus, just giving baby steps on what to learn and when.
    For example, just like the first day, you learn what variables and functions are. The second day you learn how to use mathf.clamp. (obviously thats kind of a big jump for an absolute beginner, but you get what I mean.)
    Maybe the third day you learn by writing a functioning script for moving a 2D object. Then maybe you learn how to move the 2D object randomly on its own, and then with some constraints. I don't know exactly.
    But it'd be incredibly helpful if someone could outline that for me, since I keep getting distracted and overwhelmed since there are so many things to learn and ways to learn them.

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

One approach if you're being overwhelmed is to simply focus on one of them. Learn the language by itself without the complications brought by Unity. Install Visual Studio (or Xamarin if you're on macOS), download the free C# Yellow Book, and go through it at a slow pace implementing the code in the book.

http://www.csharpcourse.com/

It's basically a college text book intended for people just starting with the language so it does explain the code as it goes.

3. Dai-22

Dai-22