Search Unity

Learning the scripting

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Sanity11, Nov 25, 2007.

1. Sanity11

Sanity11

Hi all!

I am totally new to Unity. The first time i saw it I was sold. I have even bought a mac for it.

The interface and all seems very clear.
    The only thing I have to learn as fast as possible is the scripting part.
    Does anybody have some suggestions on how to learn that in a efficient way?

I allready know vba but I cannot read the Java code that is used in many examples.

Thanks for the reactions! :D

2. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

3. Sanity11

Sanity11

Thanks, Ill dive in to them right away.

4. Sanity11

Sanity11

Ok, looks great but it doesnt really cover the basics of the programming language. Does anybody know some rescources that I can use?

5. BenH

BenH

6. bronxbomber92

bronxbomber92

7. Sanity11

Sanity11

Thanks for the tip. I think ill buy it later on.
    I am practicing a little allready.

I have made a square that shoots balls. Now I want the ball to dissapear when it hits something so i have attached this code to the ball.

Code (csharp):
    2. function onCollisionEnter (collision : Collision) {
    3.     Destroy(gameObject);
    4. }
    But this doesnt work for some reason.

Can somebody tell me what I am doing wrong.

btw: I got this from the tutorial.

8. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Code (csharp):
    1. function onCollisionEnter
    Watch your case. (OnCollisionEnter vs. onCollisionEnter.)

--Eric

9. Sanity11

Sanity11

:oops:
    Thanks!

10. podperson

podperson

If you do get "JavaScript: The Definitive Guide" (excellent book!) or any other JavaScript reference, be aware that Unity's JavaScript is significantly different from JavaScript.

(Aside: is this documented properly somewhere?)

Off the top of my head:

1) Unity JavaScript is compiled (and fast, which is excellent) but not so dynamic as JavaScript in browsers (which is interpreted).