Search Unity

Learning c# programming with Unity by Alex Okita. Buy or no buy?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mthian, Jan 22, 2016.

1. mthian

mthian

Hello,

I am new to Unity and am looking for a book to help me get started.
    I stumbled upon "learning C# programming with Unity" By Alex Okita and found that the reviews are pretty good. I was thinking of buying it however my only concern is that it was created a few years ago so im guessing that it was written with an older version of unity in mind. With all the unity updates since then, is it still worth while buying the book?

Thanks a bunch.

2. goat

goat

It was created with 4.3 in mind so no doubt the UI sections would be outdated. It does look like a good book though, maybe you can contact the author to see if he's going to update it for Unity 5. Unity 5 though is now quite ready for a book - all the new features and APIs are not in place for a book.

For that reason I suggest the Learn area of this site and help documentation that gets downloaded with Unity.

That said - it you don't know how to program at all - I recommend a book like the book you asked about here. You need to knw how to program and once you understand more you'll be able to figure out out to do the new UI (not much programming there, mostly configuration in the editor) and other new Unity functions better.

Tomnnn and Schneider21 like this.
  3. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

If you've finished the learn section and still need more then a book might help. If not, start with the learn section.

wccrawford likes this.
  4. Tomnnn

Tomnnn

Unity 5 is a different animal so I agree with @goat

No, and there's probably better ways to learn c#. Do you have a purpose for wanting to learn unity as well? If so, studying the sample projects could be useful.

5. Ryiah

Ryiah

Exactly. Why pay for an out-of-date C# book when you can get a current C# book for free? :p

http://www.robmiles.com/c-yellow-book/

6. m_m_m

m_m_m