Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Learning C# and Unity - Where should I begin?

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by FoxxyBox321, Sep 15, 2021.

1. FoxxyBox321

FoxxyBox321

Hello all,

I am currently a Cloud Networking systems engineer, and I'd like to pivot my career into game development with the C# language, along with the unity engine.

The question is: Where should I start? Are there any mentors available and what resources should I look into?

I'd like to acquire the Unity related certifications as I go along to validate my skills and credential myself.

Thank you in advance for the insight and guidance!

2. Check this post.

And I usually recommend this:

3. Owen-Reynolds

Owen-Reynolds

I'd skip credentials. You're probably credentialed for something now, and know what the tests look like; and how easy it is to pass some of them with a study guide while not actually being any good at the job.

There are lots of parts to game design, but since you mentioned C# I'm assuming you're interested in programming. Do you brush against javascript, or PHP, or shell scripting in your job? For the most part, programming is programming (and, IMHO, the best Unity programmers are just game programmers who happen to be using C#, for now). I think the worst mistake non-programmers make is trying to learn coding, and the API, and game-engine concepts all at once. If you can use your existing resources to learn general coding, C# and C# in Unity isn't too tough to pick up (but ignore all of the C# "for proper practices..." junk).

4. Zaerick

Zaerick