Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Learning Blender vs Maya?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by squanch, Jul 10, 2017.

1. squanch

squanch

Yes! Another Maya vs.. thread, but the questions I wanted to ask didn't seem to be answered in the threads so here we are!

Currently, I am using Maya, as I am a student I am able to get a free license. However, it seems to be kind of hard to find good tutorials with proper explanations that aren't outdated, Mike Hermes being the only Youtuber I've found that go at a reasonable pace and tell you what they're doing. But as I am new to modeling I have no idea if he is teaching me the right thing and methods.

So I wanted to ask these questions:
    1. Which modeling program has the best up-to-date learning resources available (Youtube videos, guides etc.)
    2. Which has the best tools for the job (I get that Maya has a lot of tools, but I don't really seem to be using that many, is it really worth it?)
    3. Which is the best suited for game development (Making character models, objects, rigging etc.)
    I get that I could use a combination of the programs (Maya for animating, Blender for easier modeling) but I don't want to focus on the wrong thing when I could easily achieve the same effect using only one of the programs.

Any advice would be appreciated! also sorry for yet another best 3d modeling program thread :I

2. SunnySunshine

SunnySunshine

I'm not sure there's a general consensus what is "best". It's up to you. Blender can definitely get the job done though, and it has a ton of tutorials and a thriving community.

We use Zbrush for sculpting characters, blender for creating environment assets and setting everything up for the game engine (rigging etc). It has all the required tools for that.

theANMATOR2b likes this.
  3. Vedrit

Vedrit