Search Unity

Leap of faith

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ADNCG, Dec 14, 2015.

1. ADNCG

ADNCG

Hey guys,

I've been using unity for a bit more than 2 years now. I've released one game on iOS, it was simple, very simple but it was more of an initiation to releasing a product on the market than an actual attempt at commercializing a game. I've done about 8-9 working, semi-polished games that have been unreleased. I consider them all as learning steps (all mobile stuff).

I've wasted a good chunk of my life not being productive when I was younger. I'm currently 28 and I'm an accounting student. In theory, I'd engage my third year on January. I've come to realize that I dislike the field I'm studying and that I really enjoy game design. Enough to drop out of my program and try to make it as a full-time indie dev.

I've thought about it very thoroughly, I understand that statistically, this is probably the worst choice I could make. There are so many stories about indies having a hard time and mobile market not being gentle with them right now. But there's also this theory that says that people whine when something goes wrong, but when everything's right, they remain silent. I feel like my idea of the percentage of successful indies may not be accurate.

Currently, I could subsist for a year or so without revenue. I feel like if I put myself in that position, I'll have no other choices than to work my ass off and make it work.

I'm curious, is there's anyone here that have done something similar, or that currently live strictly off of that? If that's your case, what's your background? Is there anything you would like to share?

If you tried and failed, I know it may be harder to share, but I'd love to hear about it as well.

2. goat

goat