Search Unity

Latest release Burst+blobs: The 'try' construction is not supported

Discussion in 'Burst' started by Justin_Larrabee, May 20, 2019.

  1. Justin_Larrabee

    Justin_Larrabee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    106
    I am getting this error in the editor now when using blobs inside a burst job:

    C:\Users\justin\code\ghostweaver\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.entities@0.0.12-preview.32\Unity.Entities\Blobs.cs(160,13): error: The `try` construction is not supported by burst
    at Unity.Entities.BlobAssetReferenceData.Validate(Unity.Entities.BlobAssetReferenceData* this) (at C:\Users\justin\code\ghostweaver\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.entities@0.0.12-preview.32\Unity.Entities\Blobs.cs:160)
    at Unity.Entities.BlobAssetReferenceData.ValidateNotNull(Unity.Entities.BlobAssetReferenceData* this) (at C:\Users\justin\code\ghostweaver\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.entities@0.0.12-preview.32\Unity.Entities\Blobs.cs:177)
    at Unity.Entities.BlobAssetReference`1<Sublevel3.Game.AnimationDescriptor>.get_Value(Unity.Entities.BlobAssetReference`1<Sublevel3.Game.AnimationDescriptor>* this) (at C:\Users\justin\code\ghostweaver\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.entities@0.0.12-preview.32\Unity.Entities\Blobs.cs:209)
     
  2. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    We are aware of it and plan to release a patch release tuesday or wednesday fixing it.
     
    Opeth001 and FROS7 like this.
  3. Justin_Larrabee

    Justin_Larrabee

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    106
    Great, thanks!
     
  4. sebas77

    sebas77

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,643
    Just out of curiosity, how did this happen? Do you work with a version of Burst that now supports try and catch or someone was quite reckless?
     
  5. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    Dots itself only has unit tests against blob data which don't use burst.
    In physics the error didn't show itself with safety checks disabled.

    Overall the real problem is that we don't have a cross package repository CI system that continously checks all different packages and dependencies against each other. It's complicated because we have now have a bunch of different combinations.

    We are working on it and once we have it is should significantly reduce any issues where packages are incompatible as well as improve pain from discovering issues late resulting in delayed releases.
     
    davvjs, NotaNaN, Shinyclef and 4 others like this.