Search Unity

Latency using Mecanim/Animator vs Legacy Animation

Discussion in 'Animation' started by kemijo, Nov 24, 2016.

1. kemijo

kemijo

Hey all, Unity newbie here.

I have a timing based game where an animation plays on user input. The time between receiving input and the animation playing using Mecanim is noticeably laggy compared to Legacy animation or even physics. The manual states that Mecanim is slower than Legacy when using a single state, but for my needs its just way too delayed to be usable.

I've attached a quick test using 3 cubes that move on vertical input. Feel free to import package into an empty project. From the left, the first uses physics, the second is an FBX cube rigged with 3 joints set to use legacy animation, and the third is a copy of the rig set to use Mecanim with two states (idle and cubeBounce). Physics and legacy are both acceptably responsive. The Mecanim almost always lags behind (it matches the speed of the legacy setup approx 15% or 20% of the time).

My target is iOS and my dev machine is a 2008 Mac Pro. Testing has been mostly on the Mac (I had the physics setup running on my iPhone and it was fine). The test file was made with Unity 5.4.

For anyone that has time to test this, please let me know if there is a better way to do this. In my actual game my animations are somewhat more complicated (human skeleton) so I'd like to use Mecanim if possible! Is there any way to make it respond faster?

Thanks in advance for any and all insights!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 27, 2016
  2. kemijo

kemijo

Oh btw, for anyone trying this, just tap up or down for vertical input, and don't tap again until the cubes have come to rest :)

3. Fabian-Haquin

Fabian-Haquin

Hello kemijo

I have some trouble opening your unitypackage, which Unity version are you using ?
    It look like the package wasn't exported correctly, can you try to export it again ?

4. kemijo

kemijo

Hi Fabian-Haquin,