Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Large portion of users not able to fetch data from remote config.

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by Radwoulf, Jun 24, 2021.

  1. Radwoulf

    Radwoulf

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    We have recently released our game UnderKnight: One Thumb Warrior to the play store early access.

    We have seen that a lot of our players seem to get stuck getting the data from remote config even though they have a good internet connection.
    It seems configresponse is never returning success for them.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. austineast

    austineast

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Just want to chime in on this too, a title we've been testing has been experiencing the same issue for the past few days - we have some users that can receive data from Remote Config, but others haven't had it work once!

    *Edit* Also wanted to note this is happening on the Android/Oculus Quest platform, if that helps!
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2021
  3. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,446
    Are you able to reproduce? So the users end up using the default values that you've set? We are checking here.
     
  4. austineast

    austineast

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Yep, the affected users end up with our default values. Its consistently reproducible on their devices - users with the issue always have the issue, and those without the issue don't get the issue later (as far as we've seen in our testing).

    Could it be an issue with the user's network/firewall settings? We have other network queries in the game (mostly to Oculus servers) that work with no issue on all devices.
     
  5. Radwoulf

    Radwoulf

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    For us(mobile), the affected users keep having the same issues no restart phone or re-install fixes the problem. Players who do not have the issue never encounter it.

    So the same behaviour austineast is experiencing.

    Thanks for looking into it!
     
  6. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,446
    Can either of you send me a private
    When did this start to occur for you? Was it working previously?
     
  7. austineast

    austineast

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    It occurred immediately, when we started testing beyond our dev team. But we have some interesting news for the potential source of the issue - a playtester who was experiencing the issue ended up having a DNS blocker setup at their house (a raspberry pi-based "pi-hole", specifically), and it's default blocklist (which you can see here: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/StevenBlack/hosts/master/hosts) blocks many of Unity's domains. After they whitelisted `unity3d.com`, the Remote Config service was working fine for them.

    A little frustrating but at least we have something to try when other players report issues in the future :)

    I know there's nothing you guys can really do about this specific issue, but it may be worth mentioning this somewhere in the docs as a potential troubleshooting step, seeing how popular DNS blockers (especially pi-holes) are these days.
     
    GAMEDIA_Justin likes this.