Search Unity

Large networked world with multiplayer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Voley6969, Mar 19, 2018.

1. Voley6969

Voley6969

I'm looking to make a networked game like Rust (duh), I have some experience with Unity networking, and wanted to ask more experienced folks a few questions.

My target platform is Mobile, maybe consoles.

1. I'm planning to have relatively large world, maybe 4 by 4 km. Should I use meshes with LODs for better performance, or just use unity terrains stitched to each other? What is more performant from your experience?

2. Unity networking has a class that detects if network updates are needed based on distance, is it ok to use?

3. Since the world will be pretty big, will I need to store it all in memory on dedicated server to handle all the clients? Is it realistic in terms of memory and performance?

4. Since I will be streaming only the parts of the world, is Unity networking ok with different world configurations on client and server? Because obviously the client will only see small part of the world at any given time.

Thanks!

2. ToshoDaimos

ToshoDaimos

First, get a team. Hire 20+ guys. Get a good technical director. Get a good network programmer. Problem solved. Solo you have zero chance of success.

3. N1warhead

N1warhead

@Quingu : What? Why would you give such advice as to zero chance of success? For all you know his game could be cube players, basic inventory systems, perhaps I just feel more comfortable with network programming than single player games.

But the truth is, nobody knows the game he wants to make other than the people he's told.
    Runescape for example was made by two people:
    • Andrew Gower
    • Paul Gower
    Granted it didn't stay as two people after it was developed(V1 release), but two people isn't much different than one person on such a massive feat. Say whatever you'd like, but there weren't any Unity's back then and they did it in a reasonable time frame.