Search Unity

Landing page: yay or nay

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sleepandpancakes, Apr 27, 2017.

1. sleepandpancakes

sleepandpancakes

Hi everyone,

I am a hobbyist game developer nearing the release of my first game, and I am starting to wonder if I need to make a landing page. Making a website seems to be more expensive and complicated than I thought it would be, and since I've never released a game before and I don't have much of a following I don't know if making a landing page will actually be worth it. Most indie game marketing resources I've read say to make one, but I would assume that most of the attention my game gets would be through vendors like Steam rather than it's own website. What should I do? I am releasing a minimal abstract puzzle game if that's relevant.

If you do think making a landing page is a good idea, do you have any suggestions for cheap options?

2. Billy4184

Billy4184

My feeling would be that it's not the most important thing, but doesn't go astray either. On the one hand people aren't going to be piling in on a website to look at screenshots of a minimalist puzzle game, but on the other, without an identity it's hard to gather a following, unless someone else gives you an identity by playing it on their youtube channel or something. If you're aiming at steam, I'd probably do a landing page anyway since your audience will be online on their PC anyway, and it's too much of an opportunity to miss. Think of it as an investment for your future store front.

But if I were you, I would spend most time trying to get other people to review it and "let's play" it, it seems to be the best way to spread the news for that sort of game.

theANMATOR2b likes this.
  3. TonyLi

TonyLi