Search Unity

Lag when rotating gameobjects

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by erisaesis, Apr 15, 2019.

1. erisaesis

erisaesis

Hi everyone! I am quite new to developing games in Unity (but also in general).
    I've recently almost just finished a game, but the only issue is the lag.
    So basically, my game is a huge maze, made up of smaller sub-mazes, and each of those rotates 90 degrees (on the Y axis, ofc) each x seconds (so the maze itself is ever-changing, kind of, until you find the escape).
    However, in-game, whenever the sub-mazes rotate (and they all do at the same time, except for the one the player is in) it kind of stutters and the game lags for one second, which is quite annoying when you re trying to find the escape.
    May I add, I rotate the sub-mazes by having all components (the walls, decorations, etc.) attached to the base/floor, which is what is actually rotating.

I have tried adding rigidbodies and check on the interpolate setting.
    My question is: how can I get rid of the lag, and make it rotate smoothly (I mean without that one second lag)? I do not know for sure if delta time would help it, but even if it did, I wouldn't know how to change the code to include that.

Here is the script section responsible for the rotation:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. IEnumerator Rotation()
    2.     {  while (true)
    3.         {
    4.             yield return new WaitForSeconds(time);
    5.             if (playerIsNotHere == true)
    7.             {
    9.                 transform.Rotate(0, 90f, 0, Space.Self);
    10.             }
    11.         }
    12.     }

2. dgoyette

dgoyette

You should use the profile to determine what specific operation(s) are taking all the time. Otherwise you're just theorizing what the issue is. One thing worth mentioning is to make sure you're not doing a bunch of Debug.Log while you're rotating, as Debug.Log will slow things down a lot if you're writing to it every frame.

3. erisaesis