Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions by the end of July. Read our announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Bug Korean input bug in UWP build

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by djqandyd1653, Sep 27, 2022.

  1. djqandyd1653

    djqandyd1653

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Hello, I built with UWP to launch a game on MS Store.

    However, if you enter Korean in the input field of textMeshPro in the UWP build, the consonants and vowels are separated and displayed.
    ex) Expected results: "가나다", Actual results: "ㄱㅏㄴㅏㄷㅏ"

    Strangely, It will print normally when you try it in Unity Editor.
    In addition, the touch keyboard in the UWP build will output normally.

    If you know how to solve a bug like this, please help me.

    Unity Version - 2021.3.8f1
    TextMeshPro Version - 3.0.6
    Build Type - XAML Project
    Platform - Universal Windows Platform(UWP)
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2022
  2. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    11,695
  3. djqandyd1653

    djqandyd1653

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    MelvMay likes this.
  4. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    11,695
    Done! :)
     
    djqandyd1653 likes this.
  5. timke

    timke

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Posts:
    408
    Thank you for raising this issue!

    I've done a lot of work with UWP's TouchScreenKeyboard and IME implementation in the past.
    This definitely sounds like a bug with UWP and so please file a Unity bug if you haven't already.

    This is because UWP uses a completely different platform implementation than the Editor and Windows StandalonePlayer; it uses WinRT instead of Win32. Strangely enough UWP != Windows :)

    That is odd, because TouchScreenKeyboard and IME are provided by the same WinRT API, specifically CoreTextEditContext, and so Unity's implementation handles both scenarios.

    Anyway, I doubt this is a TMP issue, but we'll need a bug report in order to investigate.
     
  6. djqandyd1653

    djqandyd1653

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you for your answer. I just created a bug report.
     
  7. djqandyd1653

    djqandyd1653

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Automatic response just send me "Your request status has changed to Closed with resolution Not Qualified."
    Is there any resolution to solve this?
     
  8. timke

    timke

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Posts:
    408
    I looked into what happened and apparently there was some kind glitch in the process.

    Ticket IN-17424 (one that was closed) was determined to be a duplicate of IN-18130, which is still open and has been promoted to an official bug. Closing the duplicate ticket as "Not Qualified" was a mistake and QA incoming said they'll work to fix the issue.

    I'm sorry for the confusion (I was also surprised), but I did confirm there is an open bug ticket for this issue.