Search Unity

KINGS - Card Swiping Decision Game Asset

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Maulwurfmann, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    I am not sure what kind of game you exactly want to do, but i suggest to try to keep it as simple as possible.
    E.g. if you want the player to go back to the same card from the previous chapter card, then i would make only one card per chapter (cardstack group) that has the option to switch between between chapters, and simply put the other "switch chapter" cards from the other chapters as follow up cards, e.g. switchcard from chapter1 has followup cards linked in to chapter 2, 3, 4.

    Hope this helps.
     
  2. Davlin

    Davlin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Hello

    Could you please tell how to automatically resize the canvas to other than 16:9 aspect ratio?
     
  3. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    As i posted previously, this will work automatically in the next update which will be released later this week ;)
     
  4. Davlin

    Davlin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Thank you!
     
  5. Davlin

    Davlin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Hello

    I downloaded the updated asset, but the issue with resizing the UI still exists.
     
  6. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    The Update is not online yet :oops:
    I also wanted to add the UI changes to "the Mayor" scene, but it took a bit longer than expected, but i am as good as finished, hopefully i will submit the update to the Asset Store in the next 1-2 days...
     
  7. Davlin

    Davlin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Oh, got it :)
     
  8. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    Update 1.55 is now finished and submitted to the Asset Store :)
    It should be available in the next few days!

    Update 1.55:
    - Complete UI rework to allow Landscape and Portrait mode with one scene and adjusting to all Screen sizes/ratios.
    - UI adjustment to Notch/Camera Punch-hole thanks to Safe Area Helper (by Crystal Pug)
    - minor fixes and improvements

    The Mayor Demo scene is also updated to work with both Landscape and Portrait, you can try it here.

    Screenshot_20190614-122935_Kings.jpg Screenshot_20190614-122949_Kings.jpg
     
    jamopolis likes this.
  9. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    Update 1.55 is now available in the Asset Store :)
     
    jamopolis likes this.
  10. jamopolis

    jamopolis

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Strange Unity says 1.55 is launched, but the version I can download still seems to be 1.52
     
  11. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    This and all future updates are only for Unity 2019 version, if you want to use Unity 2018 and use some of the new features/scripts, you can install Unity 2019, download the package/or scripts from it and import it in Unity 2018.
     
  12. jamopolis

    jamopolis

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Good to know - thanks!
     
  13. Devision4

    Devision4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    1,288
    Is there a video tutorial how to make a game like the mayor demo???
     
  14. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    No, a video tutorial is not available for the Mayor demo. I think this is not really neccessary, since all functions are the same as in the Kings demo scene, only the layout / design of the cards has been changed.

    Do you have any problems with editing the Mayor demo? Or is anything unclear with it?
     
  15. Maulwurfmann

    Maulwurfmann

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    366
    FYI. I am on vacation for the next two weeks, so replies may be a bit delayed from my side. Thanks for your understanding.
     
  16. Devision4

    Devision4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    1,288
    No I just asking pre-purchase since documentationa nd get started documentation are based on the kings example. Both looks quite different so I was wondering :) Will purchase today.
     
    Maulwurfmann likes this.
  17. yazidane

    yazidane

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    how to integrate the admob ads like rewarded ads, interstitial into the mayor scene?
     
  18. hippobob

    hippobob

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    Hi, I was wondering what Redraw Block Cnt means.
     
  19. kuyeo

    kuyeo

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, I am Chinese. I am using excel (CSV) to export/import CARDS, but I cannot import Chinese strings. Is there any solution?thank you
     
    hippobob likes this.
  20. tieum67

    tieum67

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Hello, i was wondering how to initialise a dictionary. For what i understood, i can only setup a dictionnary entry with a value using a card/extra/dictionary. So at the same time i create an entry and set a value.
    But if i want to set several things of the dictionary at the begining of the game ? I guess i should do it in the first card. Is there a another way ? Is the dictionary stored in a script where i could put the values and keys manually ? thanks !
     
  21. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    As you may suggest from the missing answers, Maulwurfmann no longer works for km games.
    We apologize for your inconvenience.
    Until we decide the further steps, I would like to try to answer your questions.
     
  22. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    If one card was drawn it can not be drawn again for "Redraw Block Cnt" - draws. From the Dokumentation: "Redraw Block Cnt gives you the optionto block a card for x draws after it has been drawn"
     
    hippobob likes this.
  23. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    I have to take a look into this. It should be the same as for normal cards, since the cards from the Mayor scene are similar to the usual cards, except the button/visual layout.
     
  24. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    This is a known behaviour from Unity and there is a solution to this. Most of the time, the csv file is not correctly encoded in UTF-8 (Reencoding to UTF-8 can be done with a software like Notepad++). At some cases there are mismatching delimiters in the file. If you could send me the file I would like to make a PDF Report on how to format the csv file for ImEx for you.
     
  25. tieum67

    tieum67

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Hello, i do have an issue with setting a value at the beginning of the game. I would like to set the value at 50, so i did random min =50 and random max =50. But this value is always set to 1... What s strange is that is works fine with two other values. I tried to solve it by deleting and copy/paste the other values game objects, deleting and writing back the value in the script, with no result. valueDef.JPG value.JPG
     
  26. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    I will show you one possibility to do this. This solution needs no attachement to the first card and can set more than the dictionary, you could also add Items or set values.
    For this solution I added a new GameObject at the scripts. There i Attached two scripts:
    1. DelayedEvent and
    2. MakeChanges

    DelayedEvent is configured to "Start On Start" and calls MakeChanges.ExecuteEffect with a Delay of 0 seconds.

    MakeChanges is configured to execute Conditional. The condition here is that the key "DictSet" equals "initialized". This is false for the first startup, because there is no such key set yet. Therefore the Branch "Modifiers False" is executed.

    For the changes in this branch I set the dictionary Key "DictSet" to "initialized". Therefore for the next start of the game it will not be executed again. Additional I set all the initial keys like in the example "Name" to the value "Hanseline".
    You could make additional changes here which only take effekt on the first start of the game. I also tested it with adding an item.

    Initialize_Dictionary.PNG

    Edit: Sorry I forgot to answer one of your questions: The Dictionary is stored with Json as serialized List in the PlayerPrefs for each user. Additional it is possible it is stored in an encrypted format. Therefore a direct modification in a file is not possible.
     
  27. tieum67

    tieum67

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    5
     
  28. hippobob

    hippobob

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    Thank you very much for your reply! But I've read this function in the source code. English is not good to do unit project is really difficult! XD
    In addition, I hope this project will continue. I hope the departure of the team members will not affect you! Thank you for your persistence. I thought something happened to him on vacation!
     
  29. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you for adding the screenshot of the valueDefinition file.

    The first enumeration values in this definition file (up to and including "years") are used e. g. in the character selector. The character selection panel at the beginning of the game uses the 3. entry for memorizing the gender (0 or 1) and therefore overwrites your configuration.
    Unfortunately the enumeration is stored by the index number and not by the name you give it, therefore also adding new values in between could break your configuration. We discussed this behaviour but didn't change it, because changing it now would break all other builds.

    Solution: valueDefinitions.PNG
    Leave the first values as they are. Add your values after the "years".
    Please go through your existing valueScripts and other, which use this and select your desired value from the extended dropdown menu.

    I hope this solves your problem.
     
  30. furkan1aktas

    furkan1aktas

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Hello again after a long time,

    You know Google Play has switched to 64 bits since August 1st. I have a game with Unity 2017.4.3f1. Online on Google Play. How can I make it suitable for 64-bit?
     
  31. yazidane

    yazidane

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Others by the demo in google play. Anyone have successfully publish any game using this template?...like to see other example

    Also i really need to know to how to add the admob ads working to the mayor scene. Any tutorial will be helpful.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2019 at 4:30 PM
  32. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Because there are some Unity issues regarding csv files without the correct UTF8 Encoding, I prepared a report how to convert it correctly. Some adional issues, which could lead to a errors and the according solutions for Kings ImEx are also described.
    I hope this helps solving your issue with complex characters :).
     

    Attached Files:

  33. wagamama

    wagamama

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    8

    Hello I want to ask why the Card's color and Icon Can't Change????
    I change it that but it not change
     
  34. KMDeclius

    KMDeclius

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Hi wagamam,
    this is a feature and not a bug :p.
    There are several ways to do this.

    The behaviour is from the card styles (attached to the card itself)
    Cardstyle1.PNG
    If you want to change the style (some colors and images) for all cards with this style, you can edit the style itself.
    You can do so by double click the card style and adjust your images/colors:
    Cardstyle2.PNG

    It should update your settings instantly.

    If you want to add a new style you can right-click and select "Create->Kings Card Style"
    or easier: select an existing style in the Project Tab and press "Strg+d" to duplicate it.
    => Adjust the style and its name for your needs.

    I create a style cs_healthRed for example:
    Cardstyle3.PNG

    Notes:
    1. Please do not delete the script "Card Style" form the Card,
    this would generate error messages in Unity because this is a required component for cards.

    2. To get the card styles work with the import and export feature (Kings ImEx),
    please dont't forget to add your new style to the style list:
    Cardstyle4.PNG

    I hope i could help you.