Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Keeping Entity and GameObject in sync

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by BanJaxe, Mar 30, 2018.

1. BanJaxe

BanJaxe

Is there an easy pattern to keep the components on a gameobject and entity the same, so that add/removing a component to one, also changes the other. (Just talking about regular components, not IComponentData)

Currently you can use GameObjectEntity, but that is just for initialization. e.g. If you then later add a SpriteRenderer to the gameObject the entity doesn't see it. Likewise if you remove a component from the entity the gameObject still has it attached.

Do you just have to remember to always make the change to both? Maybe I'm not thinking about it correctly as I'm new to ECS.

2. rastlin

rastlin

Your game code should never do operations directly on GameObject. Your game code should work directly on Entities through components. Last step is that you have some sort of a system which propagates/synchronizes the Entity component updates to the GameObject.

So the flow is always Entity->GameObject. This approach will provide a number of advantages to your game code:
    * In general it will be fully testable, and your game code can run independently from actual game visuals
    * It will allow you to simulate the changes in the World without being hindered by Unity API's performance or visual updates, because you can easily ignore components which affects a visual aspects of your entities in the simulation
    * You will have single point of synchronization between GameObject and Entity (your sync system) which will naturally batch access to Unity API's (the famous Transform batching trick is a good example)
    * Debugging will be easier, as the origin of component data changes will come all the time from your code