Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion Keep receiving license infringement (threaten) mail from UNITY.CN

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Showhow, Sep 26, 2022.

1. Showhow

Showhow

Hi All,

I'm a indie developer which just start up a small one-man company in Taiwan last year.

Recent days I keep receiving emails from who claim herself from UNITY.CN, an official China unity distributor agent. The email address seemed legit, but the content was a bit harassing.

The first email (quote below) saying that they been informed that my company's usage of unity seats is violate the agreement, demanding us immediately reply and clarify within 3 days.

The second mail (quote below) later received, requiring us paying RMB 13,831.2 (around $2,000 USD) per year for the violating period they identified.

There are many BSA relate scam past days, official sales in these terms often using tactics of combine coercive tone and large number of legal terms, threatening or even deceive small and indie companies.

The point I really concern is, if I ignore those mails, or after negotiation, they might still insist go to law, which may lead to the court enforcement in China. My small company in Taiwan, certainly has no ability to be known or defend this situation. I don't want future days, when I travel to China and later been detained by official customs, forcing me to pay the fine that I have no idea where it’s came from xD.

Hoping the community can provide some assistance or advise.

BTW, my company still have no income after all \O/

The first mail, I'm too lazy so I just using online translate xD
    ====

The second mail
    ====

Last edited: Sep 27, 2022
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

Tautvydas-Zilys

Unity Technologies

Showhow likes this.
  3. spiney199

spiney199