Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Keep on keeping on!

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ProntName, May 15, 2020.

1. ProntName

ProntName

Just wanted to encourage those of you who are new to Unity, C#, or just programming in general, to keep plugging at it. I hope this post sharing my own experience is especially helpful for those who are older and looking for a potential career change.

My background is actually in education (Math teacher) and with the Covid crisis, I decided to try something new at the beginning of April. I had always wanted to learn programming (actually was a CS major in Junior College for a semester, but had a horrible work ethic back then). So I did a google search on the most popular programming languages in use today and Python kept coming up.

So I did some research on google and started getting a few cheap books on Kindle to help me get started. I learned the ins and outs of basic programming concepts such as variables, data types, if statements, for and while loops, etc... fast forward to April 24th.

While I was enjoying the process of learning Python, and I will continue to learn more about it on the side, it came to mind that hey! Maybe I would enjoy game development (I’ve been an avid gamer since I was a kid). So once again, hopped on google and came across Thomas Brush’s video about game development and which engines are the best to learn, which brought me to Unity...