Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Kb&M is fine, but gamepad input is not going through

Discussion in 'Input System' started by huaffinity, May 19, 2020.

  1. huaffinity

    huaffinity

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Hi. I'm on my journey of migrating my current project to the New input system.
    As stated in title I've no issue doing whatever I want to do with Keayboad and Mouse input, but none of any input is going through when it comes to gamepads.

    I've been testing with 1 Dualshock4 and 2 Xbox One controllers. Unity detects them fine. But even through the new Input Debugger I see no change to any values I attempt to input.
    I first thought perhaps I've been directing input to function wrong(thinking it requires different way from how my KB&M worked), but turns out via Input Debugger Unity just isn't receiving any input from my gamepads.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. MyInputs.Player.Movement.performed += CharacterControl.HandleMove;
    This just won't trigger
    HandleMove
    when KB&M does no issue.





    So what's left for me to look was my settings in InputActionMap. I'm hoping this is what I'm doing wrong, but whether I make a separate scheme and bound input device or not I'm seeing no good news so far. I.e. bound my gamepad move to; gamepad L Stick, vector2 bound it up down left right all in value mode.


    Any thoughts may help.
    Thx.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2020
  2. snakpak

    snakpak

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    I had a similar issue, I think. I had separate keyboard and mouse schemes, and I could get one OR the other to work, even though they were both checked off on every action. To solve for me, I made one scheme that is a keyboard and controller scheme.
     
  3. huaffinity

    huaffinity

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Thx for feedback!
    I hope that'd solve mine as well.
    However, did you have 'a' scheme, or none at all?
     
    snakpak likes this.
  4. huaffinity

    huaffinity

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    OMG.
    It works.
    I deleted all my control schemes and left only bindings, and it works.

    Thanks snakpak!
     
    snakpak likes this.
  5. snakpak

    snakpak

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Awesome! Yeah I have a scheme that I just called "Keyboard and Mouse". Glad I could be of help!