Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Resolved Kb&M is fine, but gamepad input is not going through

Discussion in 'Input System' started by huaffinity, May 19, 2020.

  1. huaffinity

    huaffinity

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Hi. I'm on my journey of migrating my current project to the New input system.
    As stated in title I've no issue doing whatever I want to do with Keayboad and Mouse input, but none of any input is going through when it comes to gamepads.

    I've been testing with 1 Dualshock4 and 2 Xbox One controllers. Unity detects them fine. But even through the new Input Debugger I see no change to any values I attempt to input.
    I first thought perhaps I've been directing input to function wrong(thinking it requires different way from how my KB&M worked), but turns out via Input Debugger Unity just isn't receiving any input from my gamepads.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. MyInputs.Player.Movement.performed += CharacterControl.HandleMove;
    This just won't trigger
    HandleMove
    when KB&M does no issue.





    So what's left for me to look was my settings in InputActionMap. I'm hoping this is what I'm doing wrong, but whether I make a separate scheme and bound input device or not I'm seeing no good news so far. I.e. bound my gamepad move to; gamepad L Stick, vector2 bound it up down left right all in value mode.


    Any thoughts may help.
    Thx.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2020
  2. snakpak

    snakpak

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    I had a similar issue, I think. I had separate keyboard and mouse schemes, and I could get one OR the other to work, even though they were both checked off on every action. To solve for me, I made one scheme that is a keyboard and controller scheme.
     
  3. huaffinity

    huaffinity

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Thx for feedback!
    I hope that'd solve mine as well.
    However, did you have 'a' scheme, or none at all?
     
    snakpak likes this.
  4. huaffinity

    huaffinity

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    OMG.
    It works.
    I deleted all my control schemes and left only bindings, and it works.

    Thanks snakpak!
     
    snakpak likes this.
  5. snakpak

    snakpak

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Awesome! Yeah I have a scheme that I just called "Keyboard and Mouse". Glad I could be of help!